Skip to content

February 9, 2011

 

Some things that I have learned so far is that technology is not as “scary” as I once thought.  I have improved my knowledge and understanding on wikis and other tools to better implement them into my content.  I am more confident I can use the technology to increase learning and not just use it to use it… 

I only listed two goals  in my first blog this, but I have many, many goals I am still working towards.  The goals about communicating with my parents and students more effectively is working quite nicely.  I am using the calendar on the school’s website to keep parent and students aware of test, projects, deadlines and such.  My biggest goal that I am taking baby steps towards is fully implementing my class to journaling using blogging capabilities.  Unfortunately, I am in a wait and see pattern because ALL blogging sites blocked in my county. 

Based on the NETS-S, some new goals I have is fully integrating my students in the technology tools available to them including the use of social networking as a learning tool. 

Some new learning approaches I may plan to take to improve my learning would be to use the tools available to me at school more often.  When I am learning new tech tools, I try them once–maybe twice and then I go back to the 20th century method.  I find that my resilience is not what it needs to be when learning and implementing new technology.  Vicky Davis states, “You don’t get great at implementing technology tools overnight, it takes time (2009).”  I need to remind myself and continue to adapt and change things I need to make the technology tools more effective in class. 

Laureate Education, Inc. (2009) EDUC6713 Integrating Technology Across the Content Area[DVD] Spotlight on Technology: Social Networking and Online collaboration. 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rodney Smith permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:02 pm

    Just to piggy back off of what you said about getting good after implementing new technology. It does take time to master a new technology. Also, if you stop using that tool, you lose it. My wife was a secretary out of high school. She typed 100 words per minute. Today, I type faster than her, and I am just a poker. So you better use it, or you lose it.

    • February 13, 2011 9:57 am

      This is very true… We cover so much, so fast and I file it away saying, “Oh…. this would be great to use!” Then I never look at it again. I need to make a game plan to ensure that I “use it” so I don’t “lose it.” That is probably the most important gameplan of all.

      by the way…. I am also a poker. :0)

  2. February 12, 2011 7:50 pm

    Christopher,
    You are absolutely correct. Learning new technologies does not come over night. I struggle with the same thing. What I have found most useful is our Masters program. It has actually forced me to take on some new tools I have always wanted to try out but never had time to because of my schedule. I NEVER used to blog, believe it or not. Now I have my own blog site, compliments of the criteria for our Walden studies, and I am now using it for more than just a place to post my Walden assignments. I am using it for Instructional Design research, Gaming research and troubleshooting, etc. I love it! All of the reflection we have to do on various theories, styles and methods has put my thought-process into overdrive and I am now utilizing it my current work situation, as well as for school!

    Maybe think about taking some small, specific classes after you finish your Masters, or get involved in a Professional Learning Community at the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). I am involved in a Games and Simulations “Special Interest Group (SIG)” that gets me in contact with other professionals in my field and we share ideas, provide samples, etc. Involvement is the key to staying up-to-date and involved if you ever want to try and get yourself more comfortable with these tools. It’s like the old saying, “If you don’t use it, you lose it.” We are using blogs, wikis, podcasts, voicethreads, etc. now, but what will happen after we graduate? How many of us will take what we learned and continue to implement these technologies and explore their capabilities, along with learning new ones?
    Shanna Falgoust

    • February 13, 2011 10:06 am

      I am/was not familiar with ISTE. I must admit, I have wondered about continuing with all technology I have been introduced to in this program at Walden. It would be foolish for any of us to take all this time learning these tools and not finding ways to integrate them into the classroom.

      I definitely need to become a member of a SIG that I can share and collaborate with in my content. Afterall, that is one of the enduring understandings about this class and program. The world is literally at our fingertips….. “Use it!”

  3. Teresa Grote permalink
    February 13, 2011 4:27 pm

    I love the quote you used about how learning technology doesn’t just happen over night, it takes time! That is a very true statement. I have had my “new technology” my Smart Board for a year now and I am still learning ways to implement its use in the classroom. It is hard to remember all of the cool things it can do, so I am still practicing. It seems like sometimes my students know how to use it better than I do! I am fine with that, I just want to stay on the ball about the tools and functions the Smart Board has to offer.

    I am sure your parents and students are very appreciative of you taking the time to update them about what is going on in the classroom. I know the parents that respond to my updates are very happy that I provide them with that information. They often don’t know what their child is even learning about, but all they have to do in my case is check my website and they are “in the know”!

Leave a Reply

