Skip to content

Game plan working???

January 26, 2011

As I look back at my game plan I see that I have made strides to move forward.  I wanted to work with communicating with both parents and students using technology.  I mentioned that my county blocks so many valuable tools.  In the last week I have received information on how to request sites be unblocked.  The process takes about two weeks so  I am keeping my fingers crossed.  I am requesting that blogging site like word press be unblocked so my kids can set up accounts. 

  I have set up the “mass list” for e-mail communication and it is really working well.  You would be surprised to know that all the things students forget to relay to their parents :0)  Keeping the parents aware of the schedule is helping out immensely.

Though my school blocks so many sites, we do have web pages at our despense.  This is how I have tried to work on the second NETS-S of using all tools available.  I am postig and using the calender on the site and I have also posted work that can be downloaded and used  students.  I am learning the INs and OUTs of the website still, but that is the standard–right??? 

I am finding the information that I need to implement my gameplan.  I have not been working on programs that are used for assessment or artifact building as of yet.  I need to re-direct some time and effort towards voicethreads or another form of technology. 

A possible modification to my action plan would be to expand the depth of my plan…  Go a little deeper into NETS-S.  “If you have a limited domain  of knowledge, you will have fewer resources to draw from in forming new ideas. (Laurette 2009).  I need to expand my knowledge base.  The easiest and a measurable way to achieve this is by working on becoming proficient in NETS-S. 

Some new questions that have arisen are all good ones.  How do — or can I use technology to improve my classroom.  Can I make the students become self-directed learners by using technology? 

I have learned so far that technology is not scary.  I have also learned that technology should not be used just for the sake of using it…  It needs to be useful and meaningful to add to the content mastery.  If technology tools are used as the “dog and pony” show, then it is meaningless. 

I plan to continue my GAME plan.  My next set-up for improving my tech savvy is to implement the clicker system we have at school and use for a pre-test assessment.  That way I can get instant feedback and see where exactly I need to focus my time and effort.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 12:06 am

    Chris,
    I’m glad to hear you don’t feel technology is scary! On my campus, I was also the technology coordinator and offered professional development classes for our teachers. I was surprised at how many teachers avoided technology because they were afraid of technology and the amount of time they thought it might take to learn something new.

    I know there are several kinds out there. My campus used eInstruction. They have free training you can get directly from their website at http://www.einstruction.com/programs/product-training. Turning Technologies clicker system tutorials can be found here: http://www.turningtechnologies.com/responsesystemsupport/producttraining/.

    Many student response systems now have apps that students can use on their iPhones and Blackberrys. I’m sure it would still cost the school some money to purchase licenses, but then students could log in using the school’s purchase code and use their own devices to submit answers for instant assessment purposes. That’s another alternative to actually purchasing the clicker devices.

    Shanna

    • January 30, 2011 2:38 pm

      Shanna

      Thank you so much for the site with the guided tutorial on the “clickers system.” I am wanting to set it up for a pre-assessment next unit. This site will make it so much easier….. Thanks again.

      Before the cut-backs, my school would have technology professional developments as well and I would always be the only person in the room. That is why I chose this program at Walden… I truly believe that technology can assist in education. As teachers, we must be willing and able to use and direct instruction using the tools available.

      Thanks again for the site

      CV

Leave a Reply

