Skip to content

Connectivism and Social learning in Practice

July 28, 2010

Dr. Orey stated that Social learning is when the students are actively engaged in constructing artifacts and conversing with others (Dr. Orey 2009).  Web quest are one of the instructional strategies discussed in this week’s resources (Pitler, H., Hubbell, E., Kuhn, M., & Malenoski, K.  p. 145).  Web quest are an excellent tool that reflects the very definition of th social learning theory.  “A well designed WebQuest task s practical, engaging, and elicits student thinking (Pitler, H., Hubbell, E., Kuhn, M., & Malenoski, K.  p. 146).  With a WebQuest, students have to do a specific project or solve a problem.  They will be actively discussing and creating whatever the WebQuest is asking for…

Communication software obviously correlates with the social learning theory.  What are we doing right now?  You are reading my thoughts about the correlation of strategies an the social learning theory.  You will respond with your input.  This is being done via blogging (a communication tool).  We are discussing issues and learning together.  Even more, this particular type of technology allows to communicate regardless of time and geography.  I want to ask a favor of each of you.  If you respond to my post, please tell me your location and time of correspondence.  {I am in Henry County Georgia~~20 minutes south of Atlanta.} 

Another great piece of technology would be the use of KeyPals.  I really think this would be great collaboration project for science and/or social studies fair projects…  I really think the students would get into the project when they find out there partner is half-way around the world!!!  

Wikis are very similar to the blogging tool, but I am very interested in this weeks tool, voice threads.  I truly believe the students would love this active learning tool and it could prove very useful in certain content areas such as debating causes of the civil war….  or demonstrating Newton’s Laws of Motion…  How about debating a Law…??  Could be very intriguing. 

All of these tools are excellent and can be used to support social learning.  The technology aspect of it makes it intriguing for today’s student and it also takes away geographical and time constraints for a truly universal approach to learning.      

  Pitler, H., Hubbell, E., Kuhn, M., & Malenoski, K. (2007). Using technology with classroom instruction that works. Alexandria, VA: ASCD.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Herb permalink
    July 29, 2010 2:59 pm

    Hello,

    This week we did learn about many tools, and it seems interesting that we are learning about the very item we are using. The blog and the online learning are great communication tools that we can use to enhance our knowledge and communicate with others that we would never otherwise “meet.”

    You mention the voicethreads and how they can be a great tool to use in the classroom also. While debating an issue is an idea for their use, I was thinking more as using it as an assessment tool, or as an adaption for an assessment tool. I was thinking that I could for example, possibly place some math problems on there and have the students comment on how to solve the problem. My only thought about how to do it though, is that I have elementary students that don’t have an email address, so I don’t know how I would have them log in to the system. Any thoughts about how you would have your students log in to debate??

    Thanks,
    Melissa

    Oh, I am from Sunbury, PA, which is about 45 minutes from Harrisburg, and it is almost 4:00 pm.

    • July 29, 2010 8:46 pm

      I was trying to think f that as well…. (logging in) I am still learning the voicethread tool, but my idea was to set up the voicethread and copying the URL link to my webpage on the school’s website. I believe they would just simply have to clic on the link and engage in the voicethread…

      They would have to set up a voice thread account, which we could do in a day in the computer lab. I think….think they would not have to pay because they are simply responding to my voicehthread and not creating one of the three we are alotted on the free account.

      [OHHH WAIT!!!! Now I see what you are saying…. Setting up the account, you need an e-mail. Ummmm-uhhhhh…. Yeah I don’t know. Put students in groups where at least one has an e-mail account or maybe ask supportive parents if their child could use there e-mail address.]

      That is a definitely an obstacle…

      It is 9:48 pm–Henry County, Ga
      I have family in Philly…. How far are you from there? (sing my mental map…I believe Philly and Harrisburg are in the South Eastern part of the state.)

      • Melissa Herb permalink
        July 31, 2010 11:03 pm

        We are about 2 – 3 hours away from Philly. Philly is South Eastern and Harrisburg is more towards central PA.

        I may try to post a question to voicethread and see if there is anything we can do about setting up a classroom for students without email addresses. I will let you know what I find out.

        Thanks,
        Melissa

        12:00 AM – now 8/1 – Sunbury, PA

  2. Rodney Smith permalink
    July 29, 2010 10:13 pm

    Chris

    I live in Pennsauken, NJ. Ten minutes across the bridge from Philadelphia. I wanted to respond to this week’s tool, voice thread. I assumed that it would be difficult to set up. I was surprise how easy it was. I guess that’s what web 2.0 is all about. The making of web tools easy enough for the average Joe like me to use was a great idea.

    Rodney Smith

    • July 31, 2010 10:40 pm

      I agree man!!! This was by far very simple and I also think the most student frendly APP we have tried or used in this program to date… I also see a lot of potential in the classroom for VoiceThread… I just hope it is not blocked…

  3. Josh S permalink
    August 1, 2010 11:30 am

    Chris,
    I live in Toledo, Ohio, which is located in Lucas county right on the boarder of Michigan and I am writing at 12:31 PM on August 1. I like the ideas that you have for using voicethreads. When you mentioned debated a law via voicethread I thought back to an activity that I did with students during my student teaching for health class. Banning smoking in public places was up for vote in our city, so I had students choose a side that they wanted to support, gather information supporting their case, and then debate the issue. Afterwards, each student got to take a vote as if they were voter eligible students in our city. They activity went extremely well, but as you mentioned using voicethread for debates, I realized how much more interactive and fun the activity could be. The students would absolutely love doing something totally different while they would be learning about the voting process, laws, how to research, how to debate, all while learning how to access modern technology. Great ideas for implementing the technology we are learning about!

Leave a Reply

